Some Beginner's Questions...

elchmartin

hey!

first of all sorry for my english maybe not being perfect, I am not a native speaker.

This thread, hopefully, can become a stating guide for others to follow.

i am sure that more questions will come up later on.

So I am very new to the whole "scene" of creating VirtualPinball machines.

I think I am quite familiar with PCs and getting hardware pieced together, the same should apply for some woodworking and electric wiring for the cabinet.

My understanding is that a good setup contains:

• 1 screen (large) for the table itself
  • 1 screen for the "head" displaying scores and maybe controlling the operating system
  • 1 PC with decent CPU and graphics power
  • several Hardware Buttons (minimum 2)
  • a trigger for launching the ball
  • speakers and amplifier
  • a cabinet to carry all of this

There is already some hardware present, I think it's the bare essentals:

• 1 large screen, a 32" HDMI Full-HD
  • 1 small screen, i can choose either a 19" DVI 1280x1024 or a somewhere 20" DVI 1600x1200
  • 2 aged computers to coose from (Phenom-X4, 4GB RAM, Radeon HD4600) (Core2Duo, 2GB, integrated graphics)
  • a keyboard to control everything, hardware-buttons come later ;)

Now I was wondering:

1. if one of those computers is powerful enough to run virtualized pinball machines in Full-HD.
  2. what operating system to use, I was planning und Windows-7 (x86 or x64?)
  3. what Pinball software to use. I figured there are different possibilities

Thank you for your time and for your comments on this.

Really looking forward to get started :D

greetings from Duesseldorf, Germany!

Hi and welcome!

1. i can't help you here but other share can ;)

Imo it's to weak, especially graphics card

2. Win 7 x64 is perfect and should work best

3. Very complex thing...

Visual pinball - best simulation, especially in version 10 beta

Future pinball - good graphics, with som mods (bam, zedphysics, other pysicsmods)