VR short cabinet with realistic hardware?

Kairu

Hey, sorry if this has been covered thoroughly elsewhere.  (I tried searching for it.) 

I'm recently becoming obsessed with the idea of virtual pins even though it's really not in my budget to do one right now.  I currently own a relatively decent gaming PC (RTX 2070 Super GPU) and a cheap VR setup (original HTC Vive) and I saw https://www.pinsimvr.com/ and thought it'd be interesting to make a budget version of that (without the PC, screen, and VR headset) that is basically just a big controller.  That sort of thing might actually be in my budget.  I have zero experience with virtual pinball or the hardware involved.  There's three things I'm primarily wondering:

1) How realistic can you get the haptics with things like feeling the ball's location, bumpers at the back of the table, drop targets, rails, etc.?  (or will it essentially be like advanced version of rumble for controllers?)  I've seen things like putting exciters at four corners of the cab to simulate ball movement and I wonder if something like that would help?  Keep in mind this is a VR build, so I'd be getting audio already so I guess the only use for speakers would be vibrations.  (I'd also be willing to entertain it being more than just a super short cab like the builds I've seen on YouTube.)