Plasticman - Help Getting Me Started

shimoda

This goes out to gfxb or anyone else.  I noticed on another post that gfxb was making an Avengers table from an Indy Stern.  Wondering if stripping a table back and using basic geometries would be a good idea or if this would be frowned upon.   I have no experience with building anything in Future Pinball and would be doing everything from scratch, not to mention not knowing the scripting but I'd like to start somewhere with a longterm plan to get a nice table out there.  Suggestion, info welcome.  I guess the best place to start would be on artwork right?  

My theme is the Plasticman comic books, if I can find where I put them.  I have a series of four so the 'missions' would be based on those issues.

Yes faralos, I know you are the VP guy and I enjoy some of your tables.  A couple reasons.  I won't have a pin cab for a while and FP is so easy to get running with a rotated monitor (just switch camera setting).  It's probably not the best reason but my one or two attempts at rotating single monitor (desktop) pins to run this way in VP hasn't resulted in viewable tables for whatever reason.  

The FP editor, while not the easiest to work with seems somewhat more straighforward than VP and the tables do look much nicer to be honest.  I appreciate that someone responded.  I'd also love to hear why VP is better for building beyond physics.  I'm using 2.4 physics with FP and like the way it plays fine.  Again, I'll take your thoughts into consideration.

vp has way more programmers willing to lend a hand

whereas with FP I had no one who would help me back when I first started

so I switched to vp to build with

the manuals are few and far between for vp but then again

vp is always being worked on and FP ain't since it is closed source

I think it's easier to actually create from scratch most any pf toy with vp

than it is to make something with fp