Ssd's.... Oh How They Suck. I Love Them, But They Suck.

ViriiGuy

Hola Mi Amigos! Long time no talk. Life has been busy and always in the way, but there is always time for Pinball!
My cabinet has been running like a champ for a couple years now... Well, until today. :( I used an SSD as the drive for the pinball cabinet. The performance boost was amazing! In less than 15 seconds it would boot from being off, to PinballX and ready to play, Tables picked up serious speed boosts as well. Everything was faster!

Now as an IT Pro, I knew better than to trust an SSD... So I made a backup.. Fairly regularly... Well, a couple times a year anyway. But I made them onto an SSD... The logic was, it only is used when I do a backup, so it will be fine! Yea.... No. Today I turned on the Cabinet, only to realize that my drive had died!. No biggie though, I have imaged that drive onto a spare SSD. So I swap them out, power it back on... Oh look.... That one is dead too. *sigh*

So there it is folks, never EVER use an SSD as your only backup. I knew better.. But honestly what are the odds of losing them both in the same time frame? Guess I better go buy a lottery ticket. And a new SSD. But this time I will setup weekly backups to my Networked SAN.

Dammit... dammit.. dammit. Months and months of work, and an 828 table setup.. Gone. Some of those I am fairly certain I will have some difficulty tracking back down.. But most I won't. But oh so much work!

EM pulse in your house? Lol ... but sounds more like a controller problem ... odds have to be a crazy number to both stop working.