Calling External Dlls From Vp

All,

trying to do a test.  I am trying to call a new DLL from the vbscript.

I have a basic DLL that has a class:

<ComClass(ComClass1.ClassId, ComClass1.InterfaceId, ComClass1.EventsId)> _

Public Class ComClass1

' Use the Region directive to define a section named COM Guids.

#Region "COM GUIDs"

' These GUIDs provide the COM identity for this class

' and its COM interfaces. You can generate

' these guids using guidgen.exe

Public Const ClassId As String = "7666AC25-855F-4534-BC55-27BF09D49D46"

Public Const InterfaceId As String = "54388137-8A76-491e-AA3A-853E23AC1217"

Public Const EventsId As String = "EA329A13-16A0-478d-B41F-47583A761FF2"

#End Region

Public Sub New()

MyBase.New()

End Sub

Public Function myFunction() As Integer

Return 100

End Function

End Class

I have a VBScript file that works when executed as a VBS outside of VPinball:

option explicit

dim myObject 

        Set myObject = CreateObject("MyDLL.ComClass1")
        If Err Then MsgBox"Unable to load DLL."&vbNewLine&Err.Description

Call myObject.myFunction()

when I put this code in the script for a table, it fails with "ActiveX component can't create object.

So my question is...  Do we have limitations in the code to limit the execution of external DLLs?

Edit:  oh, and if I add this line:

Dim Foo : Set Foo = CreateObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject")

that gets executed fine... 

• 2 months later...
  • Content Provider

a long time ago i was playing with calling other activex objects mainly the flash com

the only way i could get it to work was by manually adding the active x control to table from the insert dropdown box in editor and setting the object directly as a "shockwave flash object" then loading and calling the file using external interface class in flash that i had my swf listening for