Doctor Who WIP

I'm very new to this colorization effort and trying to stumble my way through to get at least a basic working version of Doctor Who. I'll try to post updates here to help motivate me and ask questions (which will be a lot).

Ok first question, is it generally better to grab dump files of the screen directly from the pin (I have a real DW pin) or use the playfield.dev website? Wondering if that has anything to do with my current issue:

I started coloring some of the attract mode animations and first thing I noticed is that when the DW logo animation starts it seems to skip past the delay where you see the logo. Its almost like its playing too fast. Wondering if there's some simple thing I'm forgetting to do but its almost as if its ignoring the "delay" timer.

It also is playing the Time Stream animation twice instead of just once.

• Content Provider

If you have the real machine I would try to make a "complete" dump by removing the glass and rolling the ball by hand to trigger all scenes.

Use the RAW dumps preferably for WPC machines as they have accurate triggers.

Thanks for the tip. Still seeing some weirdness on the machine when I'm testing the animations (which work fine when using live preview) so I suspect I'll have to just record everything from the machine to get it right as some of them were colorized using dumps from the playfied.dev site.

Hoping can help explain this to me so I understand it better. I have two separate recordings I did some DW dmd screens and noticed that some scenes work and then at other times during gameplay the same scene will not longer work (not colorized). I went back and looked at some keyframes of the ones I noticed and saw this

image.thumb.png.4ebe6851e16ec73912b75d4c3d185527.png

I found two instances of the same animation/screen but the hash order is different which would explain why it sometimes was colorized and sometimes not. Is this just some quirk of how DW works?