WIP JP's Pokemon graphics overhaul

Fraesh

Hey!

This is actually my first post here so, hi everybody :)

Im pretty new to vpin, started beginning this year and got my pin in a playable state at this point. Now that I got most of the wood working behind me (and its raining nonstop anyways...) time to get to my feet wet in table making!

To start off, Ill try to give JP's Pokemon table a graphics overhaul and thought I'd share some of my journey on the way :) Ill stick to graphics for this one and dive into coding another day.

Maybe some of you can help me in case Im stuck, maybe someone will learn a thing or two, as I have learned by reading all your posts this past year.

Ill post more in the time to come but now, heres a quick render of my current state:

20210709_4krender.thumb.jpg.0c1851015ad43c67430d880c3972b1cb.jpg

thx! im excited aswell 🙈 lets see how itll work out in vpx....

Alright here we go:

How do you even make a table?

I have no clue, but most certainly one step at a time. So first I had to find an easy table to modify that could use an overhaul: Pokemon it is!

Since its an original table theres no need for scans or anything, everythings up to imagination :)

Im a child of the 90s, so this is basically the style I grew up with and immediatly came to my mind:

image.png.d82bd9fb3833430806723ce1c3f6aa75.png

You remember the pokerap from back in the days :D? Oh well, music comes at a later stage.

Not knowing where to start, the playfield seemed like the easiest first step to take. Off to Affinity photo!

After importing the original playfield, a quick magic select got rid of most of the background and I put the red underneath. The original will now be used as a guideline, hence the rough job. I just need to know where to place stuff.

image.png.6425339f25d2e1a482ec8b676c919230.png

Some assets from google turned out to make a nice collage. Try filtering the image search for big pictures/symbol to find good metarial!