Building a Pin2DMD Display

MikePinball

I am a fairly accomplished builder of electronic circuits. I am in the process of creating and eventually building a Pin2DMD display using the great technology developed by lucky1 and others.

The displays, Nucleo-144 and mounting frame are fixed. The area I am focusing on is the Shield. Given that I am going to order some anyhow, why not take the opportunity to improve on the design if possible .

One area of concern is the Micro SD. Instead of trying to find the exact header board, why not solder a Micro SD socket directly to the shield with a resistor array. There are a couple of choices here:

• SMD socket (which doesn't bother me but may other people who are worried about SMD soldering)
  • Through-hole socket such as the Yamaichi PJS008U-3000-0 ($0.82 from Mouser). The only problem is that it is vertical and would require placement so it is not under the Nucleo.

What do you think of using a socket for the Micro SD card?

Are there other enhancements people would like?

MikePinball

• Content Provider

Hi Mike,

our shields are designed for people with basic or almost no soldering skills. That is why we did not use any SMD parts for it.

The waveshare microsd unit we use with the Nucleo board should be widely available.

For a more professional look we designed the EVO boards.

Feel free to modify / improve any of our designs.

From my side the next step will be to design a EVO version of 192x64 and 128x16 but I currently don´t have the time to finish that.

If you want to help, feel free to contact me.

IMG_0484.thumb.jpg.e79873b3d0e25fa87570d9f8e2d7eed2.jpgIMG_0486.thumb.jpg.438617b38d40b0e01784ad99a276d9ea.jpg

Lucky1 - I understand where you are coming from and it makes sense.