Patched Rom help

Hello everyone.

I'm new to this color option and new to pindmd. I have so far been able to have original roms work and pull from the pal files for 4 color but I can't successfully use the patched roms. I've been able to apply the patch properly, so I think, but can't get anything to work using the patched roms. I've attempted using Metallica and shrek and get the rom termination error everytime. I've changed the rom name in the script and have the pin2dmd.pal in the rom name directory in the altcolor folder in my vpinmame folder.

My clean dots pin2dmd standard color loads perfectly but just can't seem to figure what I'm doing wrong with patched rom files...

I did notice a .dat file in the download for shrek but haven't a clue what to do with it.

Even tried Spider-Man. All the versions of Spider-Man look for rom named sman_261, I can't load using the VE rom let alone a color version.

If anyone is willing to talk to me like a 5 year old and provide a few pointers I'd be grateful.

Thanks!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

• Content Provider

If you start setup.exe in the pinMame directory and press on test you can find the name of the zip file you have to use
by pressing on check ROMS. 

zip file name = ROM set name

Also check the name of the ROM binary which is in the zip file.

For SMVE it is smanve_101c.zip with smanve_101c.bin in it.

You also have to edit your table script to use that ROM by changing the GameName to "smanve_101c"

Thanks for the response. I could swear I have everything in the right places. I'm going to mess with it again this evening. I'll update this post with how it goes. Maybe I'll just try the test in pinmame instead of loading the full tables.

So I got home today and tried Spider-Man VE..worked like a charm. Somewhere I must have something named wrong on my other attempts. Thanks again for reaching out.