Startup trouble

Ciceronic

Hello

This is my first try setting up a virtual pinball. I have STM32, display panels etc, but no shield. Just wired the led-panels to STM pins.

I have made programming, connection,

I have the PIN2DMD-logo running at the panels,

I have text "Virtual Pinball" in red under the logo. Before it said "not activated", so I assume I got the activation correct.

So far ok I think, but I can't get signal from the PC.

STM32 Board has 4 green lights constantly on, powered by the MINI-usb connected at the PC usb socket.

Green light seems good, but something mst be wrong.

If I connect a MICRO-usb from the computer to the board, the PC hangs at BIOS saying something about Usb power. As soon I disconnect MICRO, the PC boots.

I tried a MICRO-special, with powerpins bypassed = Only data +, data -. Then PC boots, Windows finds a unknown device, but I can not manage to assign the driver to it.

If MINI is disconnected, and only MICRO connected, the board shows no lights + nothing on the display panels.

Any ideas highly appreciated! 

I feed the panels with a separate old PC PSU. Should be ok and enough current.

I think it's something round the STM32 board. It's almost like a short curcuit when I connect the MICRO-Usb cable.

I've checked the instructions over and over, but I can't find what I'm missing...  so frustrating...

Picture of STM32 board and panels. Power from Mini Usb.

Powering STM32 only by Micro USB is impossible, but according to everything I read it should have worked...

Display looks nice, but a bit boring with nothing else than the PIN2DMD logo all the time ;)

Cic_PIN2DMD.jpg

• Content Provider
11 hours ago, Ciceronic said:

Picture of STM32 board and panels. Power from Mini Usb.

Powering STM32 only by Micro USB is impossible, but according to everything I read it should have worked...

Display looks nice, but a bit boring with nothing else than the PIN2DMD logo all the time ;)