Learning To Build A Table

Gilrock

I'm really interested in learning to create a table in VP.  Looks like there was a lot of talk in this forum section earlier in the year about doing tutorials and it kinda fizzled out.  I'm a software developer by day and really good at photoshop so I just need to learn how to tie everything together when building a table and scripts in VP.  Any advise on where to start would be appreciated.  I'd like to create a VP9 cabinet version of Time Warp because I own the machine and have the schematics so it would be easiest for me to try that one since I can take my own photos if needed and play the real thing if I need to check how something looks/works.  The only other version of that table I found was a 4:3 version for VP8.

Thanks,

Gil

• Content Provider

My best advice is tearing apart other tables.  That plus trial and error is how I figured out how to make tables.  There are plenty of people around to answer questions also.  It sounds like you'll do alright with your background.

I wish you lots of luck Gilrock, as Time Warp was my favourite table as a teenager.

I've rotated the desktop version and have it running as full screen, but the graphics need updating. There are issues with getting the banana flippers to work as well.

Let us know if I can be any help.

Go to VPForums.org and download the Timewarp by Destruk and then just jump in and try to improve it.  You have to learn one thing at a time and tutorials would become outdated about as quick as someone would create one and it would be a monumental task to try to write a complete table building tutorial. Here is a thread where someone tried to do the whole process in a tutorial....

http://www.vpforums.org/index.php?showtopic=2006

• 4 weeks later...