Easiest way to get a file to edit in pin2DMD Editor

Ok so I am new to this, old and forgetfull and now take a lot longer to learn things. That does not mean I dont understand things. Its just that there des noe seem to be a master faq for pin2dmd (or a wiki lik kodi) I have been combing this site and the  pin2dmd.com site for days now trying to wade my way through the stuff and now trying to figure  out how to get a file to start editing. Let just say I have real pinball machine that I am trying to convert to color and just cant figure out why it so difficult when we have roms why we need to use vpmame ??? or whatever its called to "capture/dump" the video output? What so how do you know you "capture" all the screens? I read some about dll's etc and running vpmame..... holy crap! I am a old ex hacker from the 80's-90s, but nowadays well it just hurts! I'm just good for drinkin beer now! :) Maybe its the beer thats the problem.......

Here is one 

Best practice is to remove the playfield glass and throw the pinball to activate
the different modes and animations. That way you can get a complete recording of a gameplay from your pinball machine.

Is there not a more efficient way to get a dump file for editing from the real machine? What if you dont get all the scenes? How would I know? One would have to activate every level and scenario? I also read a thread by lucky1 on table and that just confused me even more.... now we are patching display roms using bsdiff WTF! I als read something about pinball browser and other apps will they do it? 

If anyone can point me to a bullet point step by step to get one workin in a real pin it would be great! 

Signed

Confused

• Content Provider
3 hours ago, ibjeepin said:

Is there not a more efficient way to get a dump file for editing from the real machine?

There is a simple answer - No !. The problem is that the ROM does not contain full images but only small parts of it (Sprites).