New Pin2DMD user has questions

I am new to PIN2DMD and only just got one this week, I didn't really want to start a new thread but it seems that I can't find the answers I am after a few days searching on the forum, some of the answers are there or some of what I am after but there seems to be some missing steps in some of the guides etc. so hopefully someone can help me and in turn others by answering my questions here.

So far, I have the PIN2DMD working and it looks great on most games but I have some problems.

1. SEGA DMD's

My first question related to how SEGA DMD's display on PIN2DMD. The writing in these seems unreadable. I know that these games originally had a larger DMD so I ask, is there a way to make these display properly on a standard Pin2DMD setup (I have seen the larger ones that people have made for SEGA games). Games such as Batman Forever, Maverick, Baywatch and Apollo 13 are games I have tested so far and the images are terrible. I have included a few images to show what I mean.

2. Stern ROM's
When looking at Stern ROMs, I can see some of the files download are a .zip file with a .bin file inside. I have no problem getting them to work however some of the .zip files have a number of files inside but no .bin. How do I use these files? I have found on the Ac/DC ROM that it says to use pin2dmd.exe /b acdc.dat which I am doing (I am doing it for all of the Stern Color ROMS) however it doesn't work. I thought maybe it needs to have BSPatch used to make it workable but my efforts to do that have failed so far.