Star Gazer (Stern 1980)

Felsir

I'm working on Star Gazer. It will be my first scratch build table. After some experiments with the VPX editor, I think I'm ready for the real work. 

The artwork will be 4K, so I'm busy cleaning up and recreating the graphics in vector format. 

stargazer-wip01.png

Thank you! I am quite aware that this will take a lot of time 🙂 So far I am enjoying the ride. 

The vectorisation progress is done by hand- I have done a lot of arcade sideart in the past- but this one has quite a few intricate color and shapes in it. I hope I can get closte to the image I have in my mind for the final product.

For constructing the table, I'm a rookie, so I may have some questions or need advice along the trip. 

stargazer-wip02.png

• 2 weeks later...

Quick update- did some additional vector work, but my spare time is limited over the next few weeks. Did also some table tests in 10.7; so I'm slowly getting there...

stargazer-wip03.png

• 2 weeks later...

Playing around with the layout. Based on images from Pinside forum topic gallery I think I have the playfield layout done.

Large part of the girl is vectorised so I can vary the colors and style.

I want to provide the option in the script to have the authentic playfield or my own "remastered" version. Not sure how easy that probably means I need to flip a lot of texture references around.

Looking forward to hear some thoughts on this.

WIP-SG-playfield.thumb.png.4cf6508973308bd42f55032579a66820.png