Can't get VPX v.3.1 to run from Pinball X

Flexo

I have been running Pinball X frontend with Visual pinball for a couple years.  I have no issues with VPX in my cabinet but I wanted to update to Version 3.1 to run some of the newer tables so I downloaded the new minimal package and copied the files in.  VPX v3.1 will load the table from the desktop but when I try to launch from Pinball X it just hangs.  None of the previous VPX tables will load nor will the newer tables.  When I copy the original VPX executable back over the newer one everything works as it should with the exception of the newer tables that require the new version.  What am I missing?  It should be simple....so whats wrong?

Ok. Without really checking what version that is. I advice you to download your VP files from official sources.

That in general means for now. Off VPF for normal VPX releases

http://www.vpforums.org/index.php?app=downloads&showfile=11572

If you need Stern support - from this site.

... ok, there are newer version out there ... VPX 10.4 is still beta.

http://www.vpforums.org/index.php?showtopic=38450

Soon to become official - so it is kind of the right time to test it anyway.

- beware, there might be bugs ... but, well, there are bugs in all previous version of VP anyway.

-  again, beta. ... I expect this to become official really soon - so, that's why we should have more trying it.

In both cases. Running beta, means, read the info provided. Running these versions means you need to know what you're doing. You should at least know how to roll back to different versions. Yes. there exists some tables that doesn't work correctly yet without them. But, that is because authors know what they are doing and they are the driving force behind the development of new stuff.