New to all this/ where to begin?

crypto4

Hey guys,

Thanks in advance. I recently found out about virtual tables and love the idea, and want to have a go at building one. I'm struggling a bit though with these forums. I see a lot of great information, but i'm a bit overwhelmed. I tried clicking the FAQ to see if there were some beginner tutorials and so forth but it wouldn't work.

So i was hoping some of you could point me in the right direction, i have the wide body plans, but i was hoping to get an idea of the steps for once you have built a cab where to go from there. perhaps if you would be so kind you could give me a link or two with an idea of the steps.

My background is 10 years as an industrial electrician, also qualified in instrumentation and a fitter and turner...

Thanks again

Nick

• 2 weeks later...

Scotty - Self taught at this as well as getting help from reading many forums...... lots of info there as well as youtube feeds. My issue is I can't get the vpuniverse tables to work with the Sten Roms even though I installed and named them correctly,,,, any ideas.  My cabinet I scratch build using 48" playfield with 39" Backglass no DMD yet but soon. Got at least $2k in mine and I've built most of the stuff myself themed with real Cirqus Voltaire TM graphics ($265.00) thanks to virtuapin.

• Content Provider

Stern roms can be found on this site .. so they should be plug n play. Now if you cant play the roms then you might not have the stern version of vpinmame (available on this site). Easy way to tell and test .. run setup.exe and "test" then find the rom name and click start. Does it show the rom in the list? no then you have the wrong vpinmame.dll file. If its listed and doesnt play then your rom is either missing or bad.

Was able to test DMD everything started. but start button or keyboard input would not start after credits were loaded. Plunger would operate but can't play because there was no ball.

What table you trying?